The United States District Court for the Middle District of Georgia

Individuals and businesses facing government investigation or criminal prosecution in the Middle District of Georgia should hire experienced counsel to protect their interests. HHM has experience in a wide variety of federal criminal areas and a strong presence in the Middle District of Georgia.

The United States District Court for the Middle District of Georgia (M.D. Ga.) is headquartered in Macon and is comprised of five divisions exercising jurisdiction 70 counties. Appeals from cases brought in the M.D. Ga. are taken to the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit—the exception being patent claims and claims brought against the U.S. government via the Tucker Act, which are appealed to the Federal Circuit.

The Albany Division serves: Baker, Ben Hill, Calhoun, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Schley, Seminole, Sumter, Terrell, Turner, Webster, and Worth counties. The Athens division hears cases form: Clarke, Elbert, Franklin, Greene, Hart, Madison, Morgan, Oconee, Oglethorpe, and Walton counties. The Columbus division includes: Chattahoochee, Clay, Harris, Marion, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Stewart, Talbot, and Taylor counties. The Macon division serves: Baldwin, Bibb, Bleckley, Butts, Crawford, Dooly, Hancock, Houston, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Macon, Monroe, Peach, Pulaski, Putnam, Twiggs, Upson, Washington, Wilcox and Wilkinson counties. The Valdosta division hears cases for: Berrien, Brooks, Clinch, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Thomas, and Tift counties.

The M.D. Ga. has one Chief Judge: Clay D. Land (Columbus); three District Judges: Marc Thomas Treadwell (Macon), Leslie Joyce Abrams (Albany), Tripp Self (Macon); and three Senior Judges: Willie Louis Sands (Albany), Hugh Lawson (Macon), C. Ashley Royal (Macon).

The United States Attorney’s Office for the Middle District of Georgia

The current United States Attorney for the M.D. Ga. is Charles Peeler, who was nominated for the position by President Donald Trump on August 3, 2017 and confirmed by the U.S. Senate on November 9, 2017. The USAO for the M.D. Ga. consists of a staff of 74 employees, including 28 attorneys and 46 non-attorney support personnel. The office is tasked with prosecuting federal crimes related to terrorism, public corruption, child exploitation, firearms, and narcotics. The office also defends the United States in civil cases and collects debts owed to the United States.

The U.S. Attorney is both the primary representative and the administrative head of the Office of the U.S. Attorney for the district. The U.S. Attorney’s Office (USAO) is the chief prosecutor for the United States in criminal law cases, and represents the United States in civil law cases as either the defendant or plaintiff, as appropriate. However, they are not the only one that can represent the United States in Court. In certain circumstances, using an action called a qui tam, any U.S. citizen, provided they are represented by an attorney, can represent the interests of the United States, and share in penalties assessed against guilty parties.

HHM and the MDGA

The knowledgeable and competent federal defense team at HHM is prepared to assist you with your FBI, OIG, IRS, or other federal government legal matters. If your personal reputation or corporate entity are under attack we can utilize our invaluable insight of the federal litigation process to develop a personalized and effective strategy to safeguard your interests and ensure your rights are protected at all stages of your case.

Contact Us