The United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia

Individuals and businesses facing government investigation or criminal prosecution in the Northern District of Georgia should hire experienced counsel to protect their interests. HHM has experience in a wide variety of federal criminal areas and a strong presence in the Northern District of Georgia.

The U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia (N.D. Ga.) serves the residents of 46 counties and is comprised of four geographical divisions. Appeals from cases heard in the ND. Ga. are litigated in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit—except for cases involving patent claims and lawsuits brought against the federal government per the Tucker Act, which are instead appealed to the Federal Circuit.

The Atlanta division includes: Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnet, Henry, Newton, and Rockdale counties. The Gainesville division serves: Banks, Barrow, Dawson, Fannin, Forsyth, Gilmer, Habersham, Hall, Jackson, Lumpkin, Pickens, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, and White counties. The Newnan division hears cases for: Carrol, Coweta, Fayette, Haralson, Heard, Meriwether, Pike, Spalding, and Troup counties. The Rome division serves: Bartow, Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Murray, Paulding, Polk, Walker, and Whitfield counties.

The N.D. Ga. consists of one Chief Judge: Thomas W. Thrash Jr. (Atlanta)

Eight District Judges:

  • Timothy C. Batten Sr. (Atlanta)
  • Amy Totenberg (Atlanta)
  • Steve C. Jones (Atlanta)
  • Leigh Martin May (Atlanta)
  • Mark Howard Cohen (Atlanta)
  • Eleanor Louise Ross (Atlanta)
  • Michael Lawrence Brown (Atlanta)
  • William McCrary Ray II (Atlanta)
Seven Senior Judges:

  • Harold Lloyd Murphy (Rome)
  • Robert L. Vining Jr.
  • Orinda Dale Evans (Atlanta)
  • Clarence Cooper (Atlanta)
  • Willis B. Hunt Jr. (Atlanta)
  • Richard W. Story (Gainesville)
  • Charles A. Pannell Jr. (Atlanta)

The United States Attorney’s Office for the Northern District of Georgia

The current United States Attorney for the N.D. Ga. is Byung J. “BJay” Pak, who was sworn in as the 25th presidentially appointed U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Georgia. The USAO for the N.D. Ga. enforces and defends the laws of the United States through the prosecution of criminal cases brought by the Federal government, and the litigation and defense of civil cases in which the United States is a party. The USAO for the N.D. Ga. is the chief federal law enforcement officer for the District and is comprised of 90 attorneys and more than 200 support employees that all work to serve the six million citizens of the Northern District of Georgia.

Criminal Division

The Criminal Division’s main priority is the protection of public safety including the investigation and prosecution of cases related to terrorist threats. Additional areas of importance for the N.D. Ga. include:

  • Cybercrime, including intrusion and theft of proprietary data from businesses and identity theft of individual citizens;
  • Violent street gangs, both international and domestic
  • Human trafficking, for which the Division has established one of the country’s first ACT Team Task Forces to bring together several law enforcement agencies for large-scale investigations
  • International drug cartels, which now use Atlanta as the primary transshipment hub on the East Coast for cocaine, methamphetamine, and other drugs
  • Corruption of elected public officials and government employees
  • Identity theft, particularly in the area of tax fraud
  • The production or large-scale distribution of child pornography, or use of the Internet to exploit and sexually abuse children
  • The proliferation of “pill mills” that illegally distribute prescription drugs
  • The illegal trafficking or possession of dangerous firearms by violent offenders who have the most impact on the safety of local communities.

Civil Division

The Civil Division is tasked with zealously defending federal agencies and officials against civil claims and aggressively pursuing civil fines and restitution from those who damage the government and others through fraud and abuse. The Civil Division also ensures the civil rights of all Americans by enforcing the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Fair Housing Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and the Voting Rights Act, among other federal civil rights statutes. The Division also collects restitution for victims, collects the just debts of the United States and its agencies, and uses the federal forfeiture laws to disrupt and deter criminal activity and dismantle criminal enterprises. HHM and the CDCAL

HHM and the NDGA

The knowledgeable and competent federal defense team at HHM is prepared to assist you with your FBI, OIG, IRS, or other federal government legal matters. If your personal reputation or corporate entity are under attack we can utilize our invaluable insight of the federal litigation process to develop a personalized and effective strategy to safeguard your interests and ensure your rights are protected at all stages of your case.

Contact Us